NaNoWriMo Day 18: How To Not Suck At NaNoWriMo (Part One)

Welcome to the 30k part of NaNoWriMo, also known as the Deep Dark Vortex Of No Motivation. Surprisingly, I’ve managed to grit my teeth and hold onto my inspiration and motivation (so far) and I’m a whole day ahead (2619 words, to be precise), with 32625 words. I wrote 4005 words today, which is my highest for the month so far. So today was a pretty good writing day. Now, on to the tips from a seasoned veteran; how to not suck at NaNoWriMo, told in enchanting bullet point form.

  1. Write about what you enjoy

I know that this deep into the month, if you’ve invested your time in a vampire love story, even though those sorts of things might make you want to throw up, it seems too late to change. You’re entirely right, if this is your situation, of course. But it’s not too late to steer your story towards what your passion about. The first draft is going to read pretty jumpy and clunky, but that’s inherent. Go wild. Chase that secondary character for the remaining 5, 10, 15, 20, 30 thousand words of your novel. Clean it up later, is a great motto for November. Why did I do this? is a pretty common one for December and January, but hey. Worry about the present first.

2. Make time for writing

This one is specifically organisational, and nothing to do with the actual writing, but it’s very important. If you’ve got school, like most people, get up early to write. Channel your inner Michael darling.

tumblr_ljj0t7cBR01qe1os1o1_500

3. Write even when you don’t want to

I don’t need to explain this one, because I’ve already written a whole post about it! *shameless self promotion*


 

I know this  was only three things, but I decided to leave this post on a cliff hanger.  am tired from writing 4k today. Stay tuned for past two tomorrow!

 

The place where unironically enthusiastic geeks may congregate and be unironically enthusiastic!

