NaNoWriMo Day 15: How To Write When You Really Don’t Want To

NANOWRIMO IS HALF WAY DONE. I have less of my novel to write than I have already written, which is both wonderful and terrifying. Wonderful because I am over half way to winning NaNoWriMo, terrifying because… the actual story is not half done. Anyway, I sensed a sober mood in the blogging community when I took it’s metaphorical temperature, and I decided the primary reason was lack of regular posting on my part. THAT CHANGES FROM HERE ON IN! The mammoth school project I have been working on ends tomorrow, which I would like to think means a sudden explosion of beautiful words all over scrivener, and thousands of words pouring out every hour.

I don’t think it means that.

Instead, I think it means freeing up my schedule to include even more bashing of myself over the head with my laptop until I begin to display mild concussive symptoms. The future is bright.

Actually, despite that last sentiment, NaNo is going pretty well. With the limited writing time I’ve had thus far, I’m exactly on target for the month, with 25k of my 50k as of the very middle of the month (by the way, I left behind the eight year old cohort on the YWP and decided to tackle the 50k this year) I’m now quietly confident I’ll write over my goal. Highlights of the second week include writing 1145 in 30 minutes, writing 603 in 10, and, of course, the greatest achievements of all of the achievements, not pouring water on my laptop in frustration. I’ve practically already won.

In other happiness enhancing announcements, I will now be doing daily update posts slash rambly posts about the joys of NaNoWriMo. And now, time for the actual substance of this post; how to write when you really really really don’t want to. In other words, when you have much better things to do, like rearranging the pens in your pen cup, clean your computer keys, dusting your Harry Potter shrine, googling pictures of cats, trimming the lawn one blade at a time with a pair of blunt safety scissors. Even cleaning your room or – get this – doing your homework. These such times often occur in the middle of the month, when spirits are low and (for some people) so are wordcounts. Here are several sure fire ways (you can’t sue me if they don’t work, though) to write even when you don’t want to.

  • Jump straight into the scene you’re most excited about. 

You don’t always have to write in perfect, chronological order. If you’re getting bored of writing the chapter where it’s just mind numbing world building, jump ahead six chapters into the car chase, exploding fairies, or bank heist. Later on, when you’re completely out of stuff to write, go back and join up the scenes.

  • Write your favourite kind of writing

Stick your hand into the Big Bag Of LIterary Sins and just write your favourite type of writing. If you love dialogue, stop trying to describe everything nicely and include lots of physical action, and just write pages and pages of dialogue. If you love description, write pages and pages of it. It might just be enough to get you excited about it again.

  • Word sprint!

Sometimes this is all you need to jolt you out of your depressive state. Do a word war, a word sprint, a word crawl, a Virtual Write In, or any other challenges you can think of, like a fifty headed hydra.

  • Just write!

The best way to get lots of words done is to assume a state of reckless abandon; change your font colour to white, turn your screen brightness off, close your eyes. Accept that you are probably going to write utter drivel, and then do.


Well, that’s todays post. See you tomorrow for another fun filled update post!

signature

5 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 15: How To Write When You Really Don’t Want To

  1. Go Lydia, go! I always love your posts. I’m impressed that you’re managing to do Nanowrimo AND blog about it.
    Really great writing advice, Lydia. All the best!

  2. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day 18: How To Not Suck At NaNoWriMo (Part One) | Musings of a Word Nerd·

The place where unironically enthusiastic geeks may congregate and be unironically enthusiastic!

