55 Questions About Books and Reading

I stole these 55 questions from Engie {http://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com/} The short, blatant answers are entirely my own, though!

-~-

1. Favorite childhood book?

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

2. What are you reading right now?

Several. An ashamedly geeky graphic novel, Journey By Starlight, Everlost by Neal Shusterman, and the Noticeably Stouter Book of General Ignorance.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?

None, actually. I have too many out at the moment to be eligible.

4. Bad book habit?

Having far too many books lined up to read. Books borrowed from friends, books bought, books from the library. It’s suffocating.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?

Thirty books, which is an inappropriate number to list. A lot of non-fiction, Unwind by Neal Shusterman, and Redglove by Holly Black, among others.

6. Do you have an e-reader?

Yes, a Kobo eReader. I prefer it for holidays, because I can load lots of books on it without taking up much room. There are also lots of less popular, self published books that are easier to find through this.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?

Several at once. Then I can read according to mood- a light, happy one when I’m tired, a big, deep one for when I feel in the poetic mood, or a ‘prom-queen’ style book for when my brain is oozing out the window and I can’t think.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?

Yes, I don’t re-read as much. I’m finding an unhealthy amount of new ones, and don’t have time to pine after old favourites.

9. Least favorite book you read this year so far?

Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn. Don’t make me start or the vein on my forehead will pop.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?

Unwind by Neal Shusterman, or If You Find Me by Grace Murdoch. Both read in the past month!

12. What is your reading comfort zone?

Sarcastic, geeky satire. Ethical issue books. Urban fantasy. High fantasy. Dystopia .

13. Can you read in the car?

Yes. I find a good book is perfect for driving off toppling waves of nausea.

14. Favorite place to read?

My bed, with my feet on the cat. Or, a new spot recently discovered- a very large boulder. Poetic.

15. What is your policy on book lending?

Return it. Dog ear or rumple the pages as you see fit- I think it adds to the character of the book. Return it well thumbed and you will be rewarded. Don’t return it and I’ll be googling best way to hide dead body before you know it.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?

YES. A well thumbed paperback, to me, is a story in itself. I like to dogear my favourite parts too, so I can reread them or show someone else.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?

No.

18. Not even with textbooks?

Nope. I don’t own any textbooks.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?

Klingon. Yeah, I’m ridiculously fluent. With a translater handy, I could probably read at a 2-3 year old level. Or English.

20. What makes you love a book?

a) good characters. b) ridiculously, heart-wrenchingly amazing writing c) an original plot, not some copy and paste the idea job.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? 

The above, or if I know someone enjoyed a similar book.

22. Favorite genre?

Science-fiction, particularly those that deal with complicated ethical problems, the kind that coax the brain into new, exciting vistas.

23. Genre you rarely read but wish you did? 

Poetry!

24. Favorite biography?

This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?

Not particularly. I read several books about writing for this project, but I don’t know that that coints/

26. Favorite cookbook?

Cooking for Idiots, by Sue Donym. NO, I’m joking. I don’t know.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? 

The Outsiders by S.E Hinton. Gosh, I can hear my heart exploding into little aching shards of beauty. Ahhh.

28. Favorite reading snack?

Mandarins. Yes, don’t ask why. Just keep moving to the next question

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.

Looking For Alaska. With so many people asking [spoiler] was so [spoiler] but I loved how [spoiler spoiler!] was a [blatant spoiler]

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book? 

Weirdly, if I’ve read a book and enjoyed it, reading negative reviews starts to change my mind about it. They bring up new points that stab little holes in my enjoyment of a book until it… deflates. And I didn’t even notice that I hated character A or that subplot B was pointless.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? 

Nauseous. What if a famous author read and enjoyed my blog but chose not to disclose this because I negatively reviewed their book?!

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?

Japanese. MANGA!

35. Favorite poet?

Ah… um…. well…. I’ve forgot his/her name. And gender. And country of origin. They wrote poetry, though. Uh… yes.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?

20-30

37. How often have you returned books to the library unread? 

ALL THE TIME. It tears my heart in two. Hear that? That was the sound of my heart breaking just thinking about it. The magnitude of the number above contributes to this.

38. Favorite fictional character?

Eowyn, from Lord of the Rings. OR, Risa from Unwind, which is quickly becoming one of my favourite books. Or perhaps Violet, from All Men of Genius, though I haven’t finished that yet…

39. Favorite fictional villain?

Voldemort. His lack of a nose (and possibly olfaction?) is endlessly fascinating. How does he breathe underwater? How can he look disgruntled without wrinkling his lack of nose?

41. The longest you’ve gone without reading?

Depends whether this means finishing a book or reading. For about five weeks I couldn’t find a good book to finish, but I certainly tried.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish. 

BZRK by Michael Grant. No explanation given. I’m not so sure myself.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?

Knowing I have to read the book for a specific purpose, usually a review or novel study. My brain won’t shut up with the jabbering about theme and character arc and it gnaws at my enjoyment of the book until… well, I can’t figure out how to end that metaphor. It’s terrible though.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? 

The Return of the King. Cinematography? √ Actors? √ Plot? √ Scenery? √ Chilling film score? √√√√√√√√√√

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?

I’m going to go ahead and disgruntle a lot of people by prodding the traumatic memory of the dreadful Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters movie.

46. The most money I’ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time?

$50, when I bought two relatively large books.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?

I’m embarrassed that you even had the gall to ask me that. Never, and you know it. I’m a reader with morals. Though I do like to know how many pages there is, so I accidentally read the last page sometimes. 

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?

If it turned unnecessarily adult.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized?

No. I like them jumbled, so flicking through a shelf I can find a rumpled science fiction paperback, and encyclopaedia, and a book of fairy tales.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them? 

Go away. This is a dumb question and it should burn in the pits of the Underworld.

51. Are there any books you’ve been avoiding?

The Mortal Instruments. I accidentally know so much about it that I don’t see the point.

52. Name a book that made you angry. 

UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn. YOU KILLED MY HAPPY, CHANDA. EAT DIRT.

53. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?

My Sister Jodie by Jacqueline Wilson. Hit me right in the hear. *rubs sore heart*

54. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?

UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn. Wow, this book keeps popping up. It sounded terrific. *insert frowny face*

55. Favorite guilt-free pleasure reading? 

Realistic fiction with geeky, sarcastic characters, such as Paper Towns.

-~-

Phew! Finished. Feel free to answer these questions on your blog, to prod your productivity in a positive direction.

3 responses to “55 Questions About Books and Reading

  1. 25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
    Not particularly. I read several books about writing for this project, but I don’t know that that coints/

    Uhh… Lydia? Is that supposed to be counts?

    And most amount I have spent at a bookstore:
    Uhh… either $80 or $100 dollars. I don’t remember. :/

  2. Hi Lydia,
    I know you gave permission in your post, but I just want to double check, can I post these same questions on my blog, on my ‘about me’ page?

The place where unironically enthusiastic geeks may congregate and be unironically enthusiastic!

