Someone Noticed My Blog And Bestowed Upon It An Award.

(Note: this post may involve the over-exploitation of exclamation marks. eg. !!!1!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!)

I won an award!

A grammy, you say? Or perhaps a Nobel Prize?! No, not quite. I’m saving those achievements for when I’m tall enough to stand on the podium to recieve them. However, this one is still very prestigious, or at least my self-esteem would like to think it is.

 

Screen Shot 2014-07-23 at 9.08.58 pm

Look at me! Don’t I look excited! I’m so excited I don’t have a nose! (a la Voldemort) And no, those question marks aren’t questioning the award, I’m just so happy I forgot to keep my punctuation in check!

Nirvana, over at Nirvana’s Pocketful nominated me! Go bestow upon her gifts of follows and likes right now! For lack of an acceptance speech, here are some questions and steps I have to complete. Obviously, the fact that I won an actual award qualifies me to do so. *puffs out chest* (As you can tell, I’m excited.) 

1.) Link back to the person who nominated you. ♫ 2.) Share 11 facts about yourself. ♫ 3.) Answer 11 questions that were asked by the person who nominated you. ♫ 4.) Nominate a few bloggers who you think deserve the Liebster Award. ♫ 5.) Ask 11 questions to your nominees to answer.♫ 6.) Ask your nominees to add that big green Leibster Award shield to their blogs. ♫

11 Facts About Myself

1) I once read a novel in 190 seconds, no joke.

The aforementioned esteemed tome

The aforementioned esteemed tome.

2) I have more books than friends and I’m strangely okay with that.

3) Until I was nine, I used to walk around with my hands pulled up to my chest and curled like paws when I got nervous. This was also around the time that I stopped being quite so proud that I could spell ‘antidisestablishmentarianism’. Very cleverly, I thought it ment ‘A person who is against those who disestablish things.’ In fact, it means something quite different.

4) I love second hand bookshops. I have a particularly awesome book that I found there, an old illustrated copy of Hans Christian Andersen fairy tales from the late 1800’s. Smells like history. And mothballs.

5) I love the sound laminated paper makes when you shake it. ‘fwuuUbbUuwbUWubUbwuBWUBwuBWUBWUBWUbb’

6) The Ed Sheeran playlist on my iPod is 8 hours and 8 minutes long.

7) Lying on my back with my limbs spread out in what is rumoured to be a state of ‘utter relaxation’ makes me uncomfortable. My limbs go all tingly for some weird reason.

8) I hate the book ‘UnEnchanted‘ by Chanda Hahn like it murdered my family. It doesn’t even deserve it’s meagre, inferior existence. Fairy tale retelling = yay. Terrible characters, cheesy writing, 80% Does He Like Me Drivel? 19% angsty confusion, and 1% plot. Most of that 1% of plot is empty space.

9) I read magazines from the back cover. My hands are too clumsy with big magazines to turn the floppy pages forward.

10) Libraries are, inevitably, my favourite place. Whenever I get bored, scared, sad, or feel any emotion, I pretend I am in a library and it goes away.

11) I am so socially inept that at any foreign gathering, I rely heavily on shrugs, shy grunts, and hand gestures to communicate. During the last five minutes or so, I begin talking really fast and won’t shut up. We all become ‘best buddies’ and I think this unnerves people. I call it my ‘You Will Only Meet These People Once‘ reflex.

Bonus Facts!

  1.  Are you Team Peeta or Team Gale (If you have read the Hunger games, that is)

I remain neutral for all intents and purposes.

  1. It is the Zombie Apocalypse and can only choose two fictional characters to help you. Who are they and why?

Gaia, from Gone. If I can drive off her homocidal tendencies, I’m sure her power-of-everything power could help. That is, if she can get over the whole evil baby reputation. And Fred Weasley, so that if I die (and I will, either by screaming and drawing famished zombies toward me at an alarming rate, or by selflessly turning myself in) I will at least do so in style, either laughing with Fred or succumbing to the effects of a Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes product. (Gosh, that sounds like I’m talking about drugs.)

  1. What is your all time favourite TV series?

The Big Bang Theory. Proud toter of a Bazinga! lunchbox. Do try to stifle your jealousy.

  1. If you could play any instrument in the world, which one would it be?

The guitar. I’ve always wanted to be the purpose who can whip one out and cause a school or a shopping centre or a camp bonfire sight to swell into a truly unplanned flash mob. They always look so nice in the movies.

  1. While driving in the middle of a desert you come across three places: A book shop, a food shop & a hotel. Which one would you choose, regardless of cost etc. ?

I’ll go for the unashamedly geekier option, and visit the bookshop. Who knows, it may be owned by a wizened old gypsy who is an excellent cook and will let me sleep on her floor. Or she might murder me and sell my organs on the black market, I don’t know. I haven’t had much experience with gypsies.

  1. What do you like having for breakfast?

The blood of my enemies and little shards of metal. NO, just kidding. I like toast

  1. What are the three books that you recommend for anyone and everyone?

The Outsiders by S.E Hinton. If You Find Me, by Grace Murdoch. The Hobbit, by J.R.R Tolkien.

  1. Which country/city would you most like to visit?

London! Museums, ancient beheading sites, frowny guards in feather duster-style hats, and the Harry Potter exhibition. I went when I was five, but don’t remember anything except a policemen teddy bear and some vague conjurings of a brass statue. Curses.

  1. Cats or Dogs? Why?

How dare you bestow such a fretful question upon me. Cats are coolly intelligent and fluffy, while dogs have shiny fur and are massive goofballs. I’m just a lowly blogger; I don’t know, nor do I care, which is the superior species.

  1. Why did you begin blogging?

For a school project, which you can read about here. Basically, I had to pick a project to sustain for most of the year and I chose this.

  1. What is your most favourite post that you have written? (provide link too)

The Angst of Adaption.

 11 Unassuming Questions

1. Three things you look for in a book?

2. You’re on the Oxford Concise Dictionary Word Choosing Committee (™) Which words do you put through the metaphorical paper shredder?

3. Thoughts on condiments?

4. Last book you read?

5. An unusual hobby?

6. Pet peeves?

7. Thing you are startlingly good at?

8. Favourite unorthodox scent? (Mine is old books or white-out)

9. An unprecedented obsession of yours?

10. Biggest problem with the modern world? (Slow internet, losing the remote, silly bloggers who ask pointless questions etc.)

11. How many books do you usually check out at the library?

I nominate Andrea, in trying to prod her into posting after a shameful seven months has elapsed since her last entry.

Thank-you again, Nirvana!

4 responses to “Someone Noticed My Blog And Bestowed Upon It An Award.

  1. Lydia, you loved The Outsiders! So happy to hear that- I knew you would- I read that book 13 times in Year 9. I agree; everyone should read it! Didn’t you borrow that on Friday? Please tell me it didn’t take you 190 seconds.
    Congrats on your Leibster! That is amazing, though not at all surprising. I love every single one of your posts!
    Mrs C-M

  2. Congrats on your award! You have me rolling on my seat with laughter on some of your facts 😀 My favourite city is London as well for partly the same reasons as yours!

  3. Lydia over at Musings of a Word Nerd is fairly newer to the blogging world than most bloggers I follow and seemed overjoyed with her first Liebster… SO LYDIA!

    Yep, you’ve got yourself another Liebster from: Ripped Out Pages!
    (Here’s the link)
    http://dynamicramblings.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/for-old-times-sake/
    You may already know this, and I’m just being weird, but then, my whole family is insane. I mean, my mum HATES reading, but says that if she read she’d read the same kind of books as me, so I’m like ‘Then just start reading already!’ so yeah…..

    Bye.

  4. Ummm… I’m back cause of this question:
    While driving in the middle of a desert you come across three places: A book shop, a food shop & a hotel. Which one would you choose, regardless of cost etc. ?

    For me, depends if they are next to each other in a creepy small town. Then, I’d go to the Hotel, get a room and then wander down the street to the bookshop and steal all the books (just kidding, I’d buy them) and then wander back to the Hotel to tuck myself away and read. If spaced out, Bookshop – no question. I’d sleep in my car.

The place where unironically enthusiastic geeks may congregate and be unironically enthusiastic!

